Day one and a lot of sleeping

Before I recap day one, I have a few things to say about my flight from Chicago to Tokyo. It was my longest flight (12 hours) and I have a number of observations.

  • Everyone rips on American Airlines and their long haul flights being awful. The plan was beautiful, my seat was comfortable and the blanket was soft. The flight attendants were great and the food was pretty good. I’m not sure why people hate on them so much…my only complaint is the man sitting next to me and his severe lack of awareness that he was in my space.
  • I was doomed to be horribly jet lagged the second I looked at the in flight entertainment. There was so many movies I hadn’t had the chance to see AND Big Little Lies on HBO. My plan was to go to sleep immediately upon getting onto the flight but that didn’t work out.
  • Hidden Figures is one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen.
  • People in business class got Bose headphones complimentary for the flight. I didn’t get any. If anyone needs them, it’s us back in coach.

I am so glad I’m not on a plane anymore. After that 12 hour flight, I had another 7 hour flight. It was so long, so painful and so boring. I was picked up by my supervisor and an embassy car. How cool, right?  By the time I got to my apartment it was almost 2AM. I ended up convincing myself to get into the shower and then passed out until the alarm I set went off at 9:30. I promptly ignored it and fell asleep again until 1:30.

I didn’t do a whole lot today because jet lag is so real. I walked over to Grand Indonesia, which is one of the many malls in the city. They have a grocery store in the basement. I miraculously made it successfully, constantly remind myself to walk with confidence and as if I’m not even the least concerned that I was going to get hit by a car or a motorbike…or both. Everyone was super nice but I will say it is super disorienting to be the only blonde. I was the product of many stares but there is something quite nice about everyone knowing your a tourist and being able to totally embrace it.

I’m off to bed and hopefully can keep some normal hours tomorrow!

Leave a comment